Vintage Vector

red baron2

battlezone

asteroids

tempest3

tempest2

Loving all things vector (and poly) at the moment. I’ve always loved vintage vector video game graphics from the late 70s and early 80s, mainly from Atari. Games like Asteroids, Tempest, Lunar Lander, Battle Zone and Star Castle were amazing, and kept me pumping in quarters. I actually owned a table top Tempest arcade game around 1987 (last two images above). Kept it in my bedroom! I can’t believe I traded it for a crappy Sony Watchman. As way ahead of it’s time as it was…what was I thinking!

The games were great, but these days I also admire the linear typography that was a product of mathematics as much as design. Simple and uniform in their weights, the letterforms are reminiscent of mid-century stencil lettering used by draftsmen (and women). Amazingly, those things are still for sale!

For a nice, concise history of video games, enjoy this site.

lunar-lander

battlezone2

star castle2

2 Comments on “Vintage Vector”

  1. Yeah, he couldn’t understand why I wasted my money on a table top Tempest – and I couldn’t understand how he couldn’t understand!!! ; ) Fathers and sons!

Leave a comment